Image

What are you reading?

15 Jan

Before I get into my post for today, let me wish a happy birthday to my brother Mark!  He’s turning 40 today.  He is a wonderful and funny man, a great dad and quality husband.  I’m proud of my little brother for the life he has created and excited and curious to see how it is we will grow old over the years.

Back to reading! Readers are leaders.  Reading is the way we humans share our collective knowledge.

So, if you’re anything like me, you’re often thinking about what to read next.  I stumbled across this blog today.  It is published by the Williamsburg, VA Regional Library.  I love the concept.

“A suggestion a day” is what they say.  A book suggestion.  This post caught my eye as they review one of Ken Follett’s recent works, which is now in paperback. Apparently it has been made into a movie.  I missed the film, but I’d like to read the book.

It may surprise many of his fans to learn it is not a spy novel. It is a piece of historical fiction based in England during 1100’s and centers around the building of a cathedral.  This is precisely the sort of book I’d love to write one day.  Imagine the fun in researching history around the world and then dreaming up the characters to fit into that era or epoque? I can’t wait to read it!

follet cover

2 Responses to “What are you reading?”

  1. Janeen January 18, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

    This is an excellent book ! I read it quite a few years ago and plan on reading it again.

    • Matt Everson January 22, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      Oh really! I’m glad you liked it. Maybe I can trade you for a favorite of mine?

Leave a Reply

